Minutes of the first meeting of Nanoscience Group (under CRIKC), held on 17/04/15 at 2.00 PM in the Board Room of INST Campus, Mohali-64

The following members were present:

Prof. A K Ganguli (Director, INST)	Prof. U Batra (PEC)
Prof. A K Grover (Chairman, CRIKC&VC, PU)	Dr. A K Singh (PEC)
Prof. R S Sangwan (Director, CIAB)	Dr. A Venkatesan (IISER Mohali)
Prof. M. M. Gupta (Secretary, CRIKC&PU)	Dr. N K. Singhal (NABI)
Dr. M Singh (TBRL)	Dr. B. C. Choudhary (NITTTR)
Prof. S K Mehta (PU)	Dr. S Karmakar (INST)
Dr. S Malhotra (PGIMER)	Dr. S Sinha (INST)
Dr. A Deep (CSIO)	Dr. S Chakraverty (INST)
Dr. S Mishra (CSIO)	Dr. S Roy (INST)
Dr. B B Mishra (CIAB)	Mr. PK Datta (INST)
Dr. R. Srivastava (IIT Ropar)	

The meeting started with the welcome address by Prof. Ganguli who briefly discussed the aims of the Nanoscience group which was formed at the suggestion of Prof. A K Grover (Chairman, CRIKC). Prof. Ganguli mentioned that this initiative will provide an interactive platform to identify the action plan for initiating discussions, joint projects and facilities for the benefit of researchers in Chandigarh region under the umbrella of CRIKC.

This was followed by Prof. Groverøs address. He mentioned the primary role of Nanoscience group will be to focus on the few niche areas of Nanoscience, having similarities with the key areas of Energy, Nanomedicine, Sensors and Agriculture that have been identified by INST. He also mentioned the possibility of inviting Nobel Laureate Prof. Venkat Ramakrishnan next year to address the students in an Inspire lectureøand also for delivering a lecture on the eve of the CRSI meeting (18th Annual meeting of Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) is to be held in Panjab University during 4-7th February, 2016 with Prof. A K Ganguli and Prof. S K Mehta as the conveners). Prof. Grover also mentioned the possibility of additional land being given by Chandigarh administration to Panjab University in the near future. He also brought to the notice of the members the possibility of using this land for promoting the CRIKC activities. In this regard he intends to initiate a dialogue with Shri Narayanan Murthy, the past Chairman of Infosys Ltd. Prof. Grover also apprised the members about his efforts to invite Honorable Prime Minister of

India to visit any of the CRIKC institutes. Prof. Grover also suggested that Prof S K Mehta (PU) along with Dr. Sangita Roy (INST) may act as conveners for the Nanoscience group.

After that Prof. Ganguli gave a brief introduction of INSTøs thrust areas of research and activities.

After the presentation, there was an open discussion leading to the following:

- 1) The Nanoscience group should support the initiatives where the scientists from different institutes should interact. An example may be with nano-biotechnologists and pharmaceutics of various institutes in CRIKC to interact with interested doctors from PGIMER and GMCH at Sector 32. Such initiative will enhance the strength of the group.
- 2) Nanoscience group will encourage faculty for writing joint proposals from different institutes under CRIKC.
- 3) It was proposed that the institutes under CRIKC should write joint proposals (two/three proposals totaling Rs 50 Crores) for setting up joint research facilities. These projects could be submitted to different funding agencies, such as, DST (Nano Mission), DRDO, IARI, and DEITY. Dr. Sharmistha Sinha (INST), Dr. Arun K Singh (PEC), Dr. Ananth Venkatesan (IISER) and Prof. S K Mehta (PU) were nominated as the coordinators for writing these major infrastructural proposals. They were suggested to make a list of the necessary equipments for setting up the advanced research facilities (spectroscopy, microscopy, computational, nanomedicine etc.) with the inputs from all the CRIKC institutes.
- It was suggested that during CRIKCøs presentations and their interaction with Government and other funding agencies, research collaborations within CRIKC institutes should always be highlighted.
- 5) It was proposed that there will be interactive seminars at regular intervals. Prof. S K Mehta (PU) and Dr. Nitin K. Singhal (NABI) will be the coordinators for these seminars. These seminars will be arranged at different institutes.
- CRIKC Nanoscience Day will be organized annually. It was proposed that Prof. Ajay Sood, FRS will be invited for the first meeting for delivering special lecture sometime in July 2015.
- Annual CRIKC workshop will be planned for interaction between the faculty from different institutes under CRIKC. These meetings will include several interactive sessions

as well as presentation by young faculty from different institutes. Students may also be invited to participate and present posters.

- Inter-institutional workshop was proposed to be arranged for training on sophisticated techniques related to the identified niche areas of Nanoscience.
- 9) Faculty from different institutes will be encouraged to design inter-institutional special short-term courses related to Nanoscience/Nanotechnology. Dr. Rajendra Srivastava (IIT Ropar) was nominated as the coordinator for designing these courses.
- 10) Dr. Akash Deep (CSIO) and Dr. Suvankar Chakraverty (INST) were requested to provide suggestion to Prof. M. M. Gupta regarding the website of CRIKC to make it very informative.
- 11) It was suggested that the group should encourage Inspire/Ramanujan faculty or faculty with other similar fellowships by providing them encouraging and promising environment within the institutes under CRIKC, especially where space is not a constraint. This would allow good faculty to bring in funds along with their fellowship and do good research at least for 5 years till they get a regular position.
- 12) The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair and special thanks to Prof. Grover for inaugurating the Nanoscience group of CRIKC.

Prof. S K Mehta (PU) and Dr. Sangita Roy (INST)

(Conveners)